Nobel Laureates


Over the centuries, the Academy has had a number of Nobel Prize winners amongst its members, many of whom were appointed Academicians before they received this prestigious international award.

Pieter Zeeman (Physics, 1902)
Lord Ernest Rutherford of Nelson (Chemistry, 1908)
Guglielmo Marconi (Physics, 1909)
Alexis Carrel (Physiology, 1912)
Max von Laue (Physics, 1914)
Max Planck (Physics, 1918)
Niels Bohr (Physics, 1922)
Sir Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman (Physics, 1930)
Werner Heisenberg (Physics, 1932)
Charles Scott Sherrington (Physiology or Medicine, 1932)
Paul Dirac and Erwin Schrödinger (Physics, 1933)
Thomas Hunt Morgan (Physiology or Medicine, 1933)
Sir James Chadwick (Physics, 1935)
Peter J.W. Debye (Chemistry, 1936)
Victor Francis Hess (Physics, 1936)
Corneille Jean François Heymans (Physiology or Medicine, 1938)
Leopold Ruzicka (Chemistry, 1939)
Edward Adelbert Doisy (Physiology or Medicine, 1943)
George Charles de Hevesy (Chemistry, 1943)
Otto Hahn (Chemistry, 1944)
Sir Alexander Fleming (Physiology, 1945)
Artturi Ilmari Virtanen (Chemistry, 1945)
Sir Edward Victor Appleton (Physics, 1947)
Bernardo Alberto Houssay (Physiology or Medicine, 1947)
Arne Wilhelm Kaurin Tiselius (Chemistry, 1948)
Walter Rudolf Hess (Physiology or Medicine, 1949)
Hideki Yukawa (Physics, 1949)
Sir Cyril Norman Hinshelwood (Chemistry, 1956)
Chen Ning Yang and Tsung-Dao Lee (Physics, 1957)
Joshua Lederberg (Physiology, 1958)
Severo Ochoa (Physiology or Medicine, 1959)
Rudolf Mössbauer (Physics, 1961)
Max F. Perutz (Chemistry, 1962)
Sir John Carew Eccles (Physiology, 1963)
Feodor Lynen (Physiology or Medicine, 1964)
Charles H. Townes (Physics, 1964)
Manfred Eigen and George Porter (Chemistry, 1967)
Har Gobind Khorana and Marshall W. Nirenberg (Physiology, 1968)
Luis Federico Leloir (Chemistry, 1970)
Gerhard Herzberg (Chemistry, 1971)
Christian Boehmer Anfinsen (Chemistry, 1972)
Christian de Duve (Physiology, 1974)
George Emil Palade (Physiology, 1974)
Martin Ryle (Physics, 1974)
David Baltimore (Physiology, 1975)
Vladimir Prelog (Chemistry, 1975)
Aage Bohr (Physics, 1975)
Werner Arber (Physiology or Medicine, 1978)
Abdus Salam (Physics, 1979)
Paul Berg (Chemistry, 1980)
Kenichi Fukui (Chemistry, 1981)
Kai Siegbahn (Physics, 1981)
Roger Wolcott Sperry (Physiology or Medicine, 1981)
Sune Bergstrom (Physiology, 1982)
Carlo Rubbia (Physics, 1984)
Klaus von Klitzing (Physics, 1985)
Rita Levi-Montalcini (Physiology, 1986)
John C. Polanyi (Chemistry, 1986)
Yuan Tseh Lee (Chemistry, 1986)
Jean-Marie Lehn (Chemistry, 1987)
Joseph E. Murray (Physiology, 1990)
Gary S. Becker (Economics, 1992)
Paul J. Crutzen and Mario J. Molina (Chemistry, 1995)
Steven ChuClaude Cohen-Tannoudji and William D. Phillips (Physics, 1997)
Ahmed H. Zewail (Chemistry, 1999)
Günter Blobel (Physiology, 1999)
Ryoji Noyori (Chemistry, 2001)
Aaron Ciechanover (Chemistry, 2004)
Theodor Hänsch (Physics, 2005)
Gerhard Ertl (Chemistry, 2007)
Ada Yonath (Chemistry 2009)
Robert Eric Betzig (Chemistry, 2015)
Frances Hamilton Arnold (Chemistry, 2018)
Reinhard Genzel (Physics, 2020)


Yearbook 2008

The Pontifical Academy of Sciences Extra Series 14 Vatican City, 2008 pp. 393 ... Read more

Yearbook 2004

The Pontifical Academy of Sciences Extra Series 13 Vatican City, 2004 pp. 368 ... Read more

Annuario della Pontificia Accademia delle Scienze

I. 1936-37 Extra Series 1 Città del Vaticano, 1937 pp.809, Appendice pp. 38 Elenco accademici ... Read more